West Daly Region – 2021 Local Government Election

In August this year, residents who live in West Daly communities will have an opportunity to elect a new Council that will serve their communities from September 2021 to August 2025. To ensure a smooth transition from the current Council to the new one, West Daly Regional Council will commence the caretaker period on 5 August 2021. The caretaker period will end when the results of the elections are declared, and the new Elected Members are sworn into office in September 2021.

The Northern Territory Local Government general election timetable is determined by the Local Government Act 2019 and Local Government (Electoral) Regulations 2021.

Key dates are as follows:

  • Nominations open: Friday 16 July
  • Close of electoral roll: Tuesday 27 July at 5:00 pm
  • Close of nominations: Thursday 5 August at 12:00 noon
  • Early voting commences: Monday 16 August
  • Election day: Saturday 28 August

The full timetable can be found via the following link: 2021 Local Government Election timetable


Questions about West Daly Regional Election Timetable can be directed to: info@westdaly.nt.gov.au or phone: +61 08 7922 6403.