Local Authorities in the West Daly Region

Our Regional Council works together with the Local Authorities in:

  • Palumpa ( Nganmarriyanga) Chairperson - Amy Narburup
  • Peppimenarti (Tyemirri) Chairperson - Nathan Wilson
  • Wadeye (Thamarrurr/Pindi Pindi) Chairperson - Jeffrey Pultchen

Residents are encouraged to bring matters of concern or urgent issues for the community to their Local Authority.

The Local Authorities are the "voice" of the people and make recommendations to Council. Council consider the recommendations of the Local Authorities at their general meetings. After the council meetings the Local Authorities are informed of Council decisions/actions.

Local Authorities were formed in October 2013 following the 2013 review undertaken by the Northern Territory Government to address the concerns of regional remote community members regarding the effectiveness of the governance and service arrangements established after the 2008 reform of local government.

The establishment of these authorities allows Council to be more responsive and more connected to community members. The new structure ensures flexibility in dealing with local issues and local community difference. Council strives to support the retention of cultural identity at the local community level and the new governance structure ensures that Council receives timely and relevant information on issues affecting community members.

The Local Authorities are scheduled to meet four (4) times per financial year:

Local Authority Meetings 2016/17
Wadeye Palumpa Peppimentari
Monday,12 September 2016 Tuesday, 30 August 2016 Tuesday, 13 September 2016
Monday, 24 October 2016 Tuesday, 25 October 2016 Wednesday, 26 October 2016
Thursday 2, March 2017 Friday, 20 January 2017 Friday, 3 February 2017
Monday, 3 April 2017 Tuesday, 11 April 2017 Friday, 21 April 2017
Monday, 8 May 2017 Friday, 19 May 2017 Tuesday, 9 May 2017
Monday, 5 June 2017 Friday, 2 June 2017 Friday, 9 June 2017
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 Tuesday, 20 June 2017 Tuesday, 20 June 2017
Tuesday, 18 July 2017 Thursday, 20 July 2017 Monday, 17 July 2017